Easier Said than Done

Although it’s been a shortened workweek due to the holiday, it’s been a busy one. Our biggest meeting of the year is coming up in less than two weeks, and I have a ton to do before then. I’m feeling a little stressed out over getting it all done.

This morning I read from Colossians:

Let heaven fill your thoughts. Do not think only about things down here on earth. (Colossians 3:2)

It was a great reminder to me that I spend way too much time focused on what is right in front of me here on Earth rather than on what awaits me in Heaven. So how do I change my mindset from the temporary to the eternal? What helps YOU balance thoughts of Heaven with thoughts of things that need to be addressed here on Earth?

One thought on “Easier Said than Done

  1. I disagree. It’s not thoughts about life on earth and then SOMEDAY life in heaven. Eternity is taking place right now. Eternity exists and IS right now. We’re just separated from it and bound by time. Time is a small dot on the scope of eternity. So, our thoughts shouldn’t be, “one day when I make it there…” but rather setting our mind on heaven or things above (NIV) is about perspective. We should want to see how God sees our NOW, not how we will see God THEN. Heaven will be great, someday. But until then we don’t just wait for the day we die, we “set our minds/hearts on things above (heaven) in order to have an eternal perspective.

    Like

Leave a Reply

