Fearless in a Scary World

The world seemed simpler when I was growing up. It was easier to tell who the bad guys were, and there didn’t seem to be as many of them. I remember that the big nation to fear, at the time, was the Soviet Union. I vaguely recall playing some game during a youth group lock-in called “Russians and Christians.” To the best of my memory, it was essentially a game of chase with bad guys (the Russians) chasing after the good guys (the Christians). Funny how back then things seemed much more black and white, good vs evil. (Little did we know then that the USSR would dissolve and Russia would be welcoming Christian missionaries.)

Today, the list of “enemies” seems much longer. I can’t read or watch the news without hearing about one nation attacking another or preparing nuclear weapons, “just in case”. North Korea. Iran. Iraq. Lebanon. Israel. Even homegrown terrorists. I can see how some people get easily freaked out by the news, as most of it is gloom and doom reporting.

When others around me at work or even at church lament about how the world’s on the brink of disaster, I remind myself that none of this is news to God. He not only knows the motives and actions of every world leader, but they are there by His power and will. I don’t understand why there are so many terror-inducing leaders, or why so many countries are poised to attack. But I don’t have to understand it, I just have to rest in the fact that God knows what He’s doing.

This is a scary world, particularly for unbelievers. But we don’t have to be afraid. As Paul reminded Timothy, “For God did not give us a spirit of timidity, but a spirit of power, of love and of self-discipline. ” (II Timothy 1:7)

One of my favorite Psalms, particularly for calming fears, is Psalm 27:
The Lord is my light and my salvation– whom shall I fear? The Lord is the stronghold of my life– of whom shall I be afraid?

When evil men advance against me to devour my flesh, when my enemies and my foes attack me, they will stumble and fall.

Though an army besiege me, my heart will not fear; though war break out against me, even then will I be confident.

One thing I ask of the Lord, this is what I seek: that I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life, to gaze upon the beauty of the Lord and to seek him in his temple.

For in the day of trouble he will keep me safe in his dwelling; he will hide me in the shelter of his tabernacle and set me high upon a rock.

Then my head will be exalted above the enemies who surround me; at his tabernacle will I sacrifice with shouts of joy; I will sing and make music to the Lord.

Hear my voice when I call, O Lord; be merciful to me and answer me.

My heart says of you, “Seek his face!” Your face, Lord, I will seek.

Do not hide your face from me, do not turn your servant away in anger; you have been my helper. Do not reject me or forsake me, O God my Savior.

Though my father and mother forsake me, the Lord will receive me.

Teach me your way, O Lord; lead me in a straight path because of my oppressors.

Do not turn me over to the desire of my foes, for false witnesses rise up against me, breathing out violence.

I am still confident of this: I will see the goodness of the Lord in the land of the living.

Wait for the Lord; be strong and take heart and wait for the Lord.

If you find yourself worrying about the state of the world, I urge you to make it a practice to pray for our nation, its leaders, and for all the world leaders. One resource that you might want to check out is the Presidential Prayer Team, which provides weekly prayer requests for President Bush, Cabinet members and other leaders, our nation, our troops, and other nations.

Don’t let the news of today rob you of the peace that the eternal God gives.

3 thoughts on “Fearless in a Scary World

  1. The only thing that scares me are your comments.The Axis of Evil? We have sent a message to all the world. We don’t attack countries with Nukes. So everybody wants them. And why shouldn’t they. We and our allies have plenty.Oh, that’s right. We don’t want them in the hands of insane countries. Because we know that in the history of mankind, only one country has been insane enough to actually use atomic weapons on humans. Oh, yeah, that was us.In case you are wondering, I’m a registered independent who voted for the first Bush and I’ve grown sick of the idiot Cowboy games this administration is playing. If Bush feels so strongly about the war, then why doesn’t he encourage his daughters to fight. They are of the same age of the men and women who have so bravely gone over there (including my brother and his only son, both in harms way at the same time. Him in Iraq and his on in Afghanistan).I’m sick of hearing how we need to make sacrifices when neither he, nor Cheney or Rumsfield have made any personal sacrifices in this war. We were asked to cut back on gas consumption. Did we see any hybrid cars on the ranch? I don’t think so. Did the motorcade reduce the size of the SUVs and limos? Not!Meanwhile Dick Cheney filed a tax return showing he made $9 million last year. Doing what? We’ve got North Korean shooting missiles on the freak’n 4th of July and this administration has spent more time on its war against a free press than it has on doing something about this nut in Korea.We had the leader of Japan here and where is he. Freak’n Graceland doing Elvis impersonations. What the hell is going on here?I can’t believe more people aren’t outraged!

    Like

  2. I think you missed the point of my post. I wasn’t presenting my opinions on what the U.S. should or shouldn’t be doing to stop terrorism, what stand it should be taking with Middle Eastern and North Korean diplomacy, what the current and any past and future administrations should be doing, etc. I respect your right to your own opinions about the state of the world and the U.S.’s foreign relations.The point of my post was that I know plenty of people, including Christians, who are very fearful of what’s going on in the world. We can easily let that fear overtake us and rob us of the joy and peace that comes through a life with Christ. Does that mean that we look at the world through rose-colored glasses? I don’t think so. Nor does it mean that we should sit back and do nothing. But knowing that God is in control of everything, and that He has overcome the world and all its terrors, seen and unseen, gives me a great sense of peace in the middle of a tumultous world status.

    Like

  3. Its easy to sit back and point fingers at activities that go against the grain of certain ideaologies. It was different country back when Truman decided to use the atom bomb on Hiroshima and Nagasaki. I think the anonymous poster fails to recognize how brutal the japanese were and that they were on a mission to enhance their own imperialism. The anonymous poster should do a search on “the rape of nanking” to get a better idea of how brutal a people they were. Truman was faced with a true dilemma. A dilemma is defined as “state of uncertainty or perplexity especially as requiring a choice between equally unfavorable options”. Should we allow Japan and Germany to literally take control of half the world?? I think not. By the way…the Germans were true leaders in human rights…oh wait…that was their right to exterminate millions of jews. I concede that the lines are a little more blurred when it comes to defining good from evil, especially in the theater of war. But I have no doubts that we did the right thing back in WWII. I will agree that the state of our country should currently be better and that corruption exists in every government, even good ole Iran. I agree with Lisa in that the message of the blog was to encourage folks to not focus on the world or the problems therein. The only hope for the World is Christ, in spite of was learned men would say. If the anonymous poster would like to debate politics, there are plenty of forums out there. I would challenge him to not sound like a pacifist though. Pacifism opens doors to all kinds bad rulers. Look at the French in WWII. I’ve never seen a more ungrateful nation…who was bent appeasing Hitler…until Hitler marched his troops under the Arch de Triumph…appeasement/pacifism is no way to live. Sometimes you have to take a stand (militarily) for what is right.

    Like

Leave a Reply

