Kingdom Productivity

Lately I’ve been praying a lot for productivity at work. Our biggest meeting of the year is next week, so as the meeting dates draw near, it seems our stress levels escalate. Thankfully, God has enabled me to get a lot done, sooner than expected, and I’m not feeling nearly as stressed as I might otherwise feel in anticipation of next week.

However, the last couple of days I’ve found myself thinking about the definition of productivity. The world tends to define it as being able to mark another item off the ol’ to-do list. Granted, I get a great deal of satisfaction in finishing a project.

But what about on those days when I’m working on six different projects in various stages of completion, and none of them are finished by 5:00? Does that mean that I’ve wasted the entire day? I don’t think so.

I’m realizing that God’s view of productivity is very different from the world’s view (duh). His plans for my day are greater than getting my newsletter to the printer or sending out press releases. He calls me to be a productive Christian first, with that “productivity” reaching into every area of my life–my work, my relationships, the way I tend to my home, the way I drive (yikes), etc.

What good have I done if I get to work early, but cut someone off in traffic in order to “beat the rush”? How productive I am being if I get all my meeting handouts copied but in the process am rude or impatient with a co-worker? Has that truly been a productive day for the Kingdom?

I’m trying to change the way I view productivity. I want to be less concerned about what I’ve done for my office and more concerned about what I’ve done for God and His Kingdom.

But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control. Against such things there is no law. (Gal. 5:22-23)

One thought on “Kingdom Productivity

Leave a Reply

