System Recovery

If you’ve been wondering why I haven’t updated my blog in a long time, I have a very good reason why. Nearly 3 weeks ago, my hard drive crashed. Thankfully, my computer is new enough that it’s still under warranty, so I was promised that a new hard drive would be shipped out right away.

Well, long story short, things were not as easy as just replacing the hard drive. After some shipping mix-ups and delays, I am finally back up and running with internet access.

Thankfully, I was able to check my email at work, so it didn’t pile up during the 3 weeks I was without access at home. Now I begin the arduous task of reinstalling software, reestablishing “My Favorites”, and resetting my settings so that everything is where it should be.

I’m sure if I gave it some more time and thought, I could come up with a great spiritual lesson in the midst of all of this. Certainly I have learned that I can live without reading blogs every morning and checking my e-mail every night. But I am definitely grateful to have that access once again.

More importantly, I have learned how crucial it is to BACK UP my computer on a regular basis!

I’ll have to finish resetting everything over the weekend, but I think it’s safe to say, in the words of Frank Costanza: “I’m back, baby!”

3 thoughts on “System Recovery

  1. I am glad you are back….and thanks for the reminder about “backing up”….Maybe the spiritual application is simply that we don’t really appreciate something until it is no longer with us.

    Like

Leave a Reply

