Leaving a Legacy

I’ve got this song on my mind today:

WHAT WILL I LEAVE BEHIND

AFTER I LEAVE FOR WORLDS UNKNOWN
OVER THE BORDER LINE
NEVER AGAIN ON EARTH TO ROAM
WHAT WILL I LEAVE BEHIND

WILL I BE MISSED BY THOSE I LOVE
OR HAVE I BEEN UNKIND
HAVE I BEEN TRUE TO GOD ABOVE
WHAT SHALL I LEAVE BEHIND

THIS IS MY PRAYER OH LORD TO DAY
LET ME BE HOLY THINE
AND WHEN I’M CALLED FROM EARTH AWAY
LET HEAVEN THEN BE MINE

CHORUS:
LEAVE BEHIND YES LEAVE BEHIND
WHAT WILL I LEAVE BEHIND
AFTER I LEAVE FOR WORLDS UNKNOWN
WHAT WILL I LEAVE BEHIND?

It’s one of those “oldie but goodie” songs that we used to sing out of the hymnbook, before we got the “big screens”. It seems to me that we don’t sing very many songs about death and dying these days. I suppose some might view them as somewhat of a downer, perhaps more fitting for funerals. But isn’t it a little late then–I mean, shouldn’t we be thinking NOW about what kind of legacy we’ll leave behind?

Whenever I prepare to go out of town (as I’m doing tomorrow), I can’t help but think about what I’d leave behind if I were to not make it back. Sure, I want my house and finances to be in order for my family who’d have to take care of things, but more importantly, I think about how I want to be remembered. What kind of legacy I’d have. What I would be known for.

I’m not concerned with fame and fortune. Being a Hollywood star or a CEO or running for office does not interest me in the least. I want to be known as someone who had a soft and obedient heart for God, who encouraged others in their walk with Him.

I don’t know if God has 50 or 60 more years left for me to spend on Earth, or 50 or 60 days, or an hour. But I do know that I want whatever time I have left to be spent doing His business and pointing to Him. I want to be conscious of leaving a legacy every day, not just when I’m about to travel.

One thought on “Leaving a Legacy

Leave a Reply

