Decisions, Decisions

One of the blessings of living in the U.S. is the abundance of choices we have, whether it’s career choices or restaurant choices or shopping choices or television channel choices. I’ve heard of people from former Communist countries or third world countries who come to the U.S. and are overwhelmed with the sheer number of choices presented at places like Walmart. Not only is there an overabundance of food, but a variety of food to choose from. I can only imagine the confusion someone from one of those countries might feel when trying to decide between whole wheat bread, white bread, white wheat, etc…

I readily admit that I often have trouble making decisions, so sometimes having so many options is not seen as a blessing for me. I can agonize over what paint color to get for painting my bathroom cabinet, or what coffee to order at Starbucks. It’s ridiculous, really, how much time I spend (waste) on making decisions that in the long run are insignificant.

It’s easy to become distracted by all the options available to us in nearly every facet of our lives. Even when it comes to choosing a church home–those of us who live in the so-called “Bible belt” typically have more choices for church-going than people in other parts of the country.

Sometimes I think the abundance of choices keeps us from really committing. There is always the possibility of “something better” down the road. For someone like me who can easily become overwhelmed by having so many options available, I’m not sure that having more choices is always a good thing.

Don’t get me wrong, I am thankful to have choices in what I eat, what clothes I wear, where I work, what church I join. But sometimes I wish life were a little simpler.

What about you–do you find that having so many choices keeps you from making a decision and committing to it?

Leave a Reply

