Over the past couple of days I’ve been kicking around a couple of phrases in my mind: Live simply, love deeply.

While John 10:10 is my self-proclaimed “life verse”, I think these phrases will be added words to live by, and I think they are key to living “life to the full”.

It’s very easy for me to get focused on a complicated lifestyle at the expense of neglecting relationships. I want my relationships–with God, first and foremost, and with family and friends–to be the main focus of my life, and the other stuff of life–work, house, car, finances, etc.–to fall in after that.

Perhaps I will write out “Live simply, love deeply” on a piece of paper and tape it to my computer monitor so I can daily be reminded of these words. I may put in standing orders to have them etched into my tombstone. Maybe I’ll have them printed on a t-shirt or, better yet, trademark it and print it on those stretchy rubber bracelets (take that, Lance Armstrong!). Seriously, I find myself being drawn by God to search out ways to simplify my life while strengthening my relationships.

