Sacred Spaces

Although I realize that God is always with me and I can therefore talk with Him and worship Him anytime, anywhere, there are certain places where I just feel more connected to Him.

One of those places is, oddly enough, my car. That’s where I do the bulk of my praying and talking about my day. For some reason I find I’m better able to open up while I’m driving; perhaps it’s the lack of temptation to distract myself with television or reading or laundry or the myriad of other distractions.

Another “sacred space” for me is being near a body of water, especially at the beach. My favorite place to be is sitting on a balcony overlooking the ocean first thing in the morning, with a cup of coffee in my hand and my Bible or a good inspirational book on my lap. Whenever I go to the beach, I try to get up as early as I can (without setting an alarm) and creep out to the balcony, hopefully without waking anyone. Having that quiet time on the balcony to think and reflect, sometimes while watching the sun rise, is one of my favorite ways to spend time with God.

It’s impossible for me to see the majestic beauty and vastness of the ocean and not worship the One who created it. Some of my favorite times of worship have taken place outside, including a midnight communion service on the beach during a singles retreat many years ago. Given the choice, I would much rather worship outside in nature than inside a church building (although I will admit that I am rather fond of air conditioning and heating).

 

One of my favorite places to worship: on a balcony overlooking the beach. Preferably with a fresh cup of coffee in hand and a nice cool breeze.
One of my favorite places to worship: on a balcony overlooking the beach. Preferably with a fresh cup of coffee in hand and a nice cool breeze.

How about you–are there spaces that you sense God’s presence more clearly or find easier to worship than inside a church building? Where are your “sacred spaces”?

Leave a Reply

