As I mentioned a few weeks ago, I have been eagerly anticipating my first shipment from Stitch Fix. In a nutshell, Stitch Fix is an online styling service where you complete an online profile and pay $20 for a “fix”. You’re matched with a stylist who chooses five items (including accessories, if you so desire) based on your profile and sends them to you to try on. You keep what you want, return what you don’t. If you purchase any of the items sent, your $20 styling fee applies to your purchase, and if you purchase all five items, you save 25% off the entire purchase.

My “fix” finally arrived this week, and I thought I’d share my review for those of you considering trying it for yourself. First, let’s discuss the presentation:

Attention to detail in the packaging is a good sign in my book.
Attention to detail in the packaging is a good sign in my book.

I’m a sucker for great packaging, and I have to give them A+ for that. The note from my stylist, Anabell, added to the personalized touch. So far, so good. And now for the good stuff: what was inside. As you’ll see in the photo in the bottom right below, the items came with a card that gave some suggestions for styling–another plus.

Classic with a twist--my stylist did a great job for the most part.
Classic with a twist–my stylist did a great job for the most part.

This “fix” included:

• A navy and turquoise grid print top–cute pattern but the cut was way too boxy and oversized. Verdict: RETURN

• A white slub knit sweater–comfy but too big for me. Verdict: RETURN

• An antique gold collar necklace–love it! Verdict: KEEP

• A French terry knit blazer in cream with navy stripes–another hit! I loved the cut (it hugs my waist even when it’s unbuttoned) and it can be dressed up or down. Very comfortable too. Verdict: KEEP

• A pair of distressed boyfriend jeans (not pictured separately but seen on styling card above)–I was excited to get jeans to try on, as I’ve been hunting a new pair for a long time, but these were a miss. The rise was a little lower than I like, and I am just not a distressed jeans kind of girl. Verdict: RETURN

After trying everything on and deciding what stays and what goes, I went onto Stitch Fix to complete my post-fix questionnaire. I told them what I wanted to keep and what I was returning, and why. Now all I have to do is put the three items I’m sending back in the enclosed return envelope and put it in the mail.

All in all, I was excited that two out of the five items worked for me, particularly considering that this was Anabell’s first try at styling me. It was great fun to anticipate getting my package and seeing what someone else picked out especially for me. Given this first go-round, I’m optimistic that I’ll like at least one or two pieces in any future fixes. And yes, I DO plan to order another Stitch Fix in the not-too-distant future. As much as I would love to schedule another shipment right away, I’m going to exercise restraint for the sake of being able to pay for groceries and other more pressing necessities and limit my fixes to every few months. 

Interested in trying Stitch Fix for yourself? Click here to check it out. If you order your own Stitch Fix using my referral link, I’ll get a $25 credit (plus my thanks!), and you will in turn get your own referral link to share with family and friends. Have fun!

[Note: This is an unsolicited review of Stitch Fix. I have not been compensated in any way for this post.]

