Book Version or Movie Version?

As you can probably tell from reading this blog, I adore books. I also enjoy watching movies. However, I am not always a fan of the two meeting. Usually I find that when I read a book first and then watch the movie version, I am largely disappointed. It’s understandable that a lot of details and events in a book may need to be nixed from the screenplay for the sake of time, but some screenplays veer a good bit off the book and end up bearing little resemblance to the original content. I usually spend much of the movie annoying myself by thinking, “That’s not how it was in the book…”

For quite some time I’ve been wanting to read Gone Girl (which, sadly, either has yet to appear on my local library’s shelves or is always checked out when I look for it). Now that the movie version is supposed to come out this fall, I’m debating whether to hold off on reading the book until after I see the movie. Knowing that Ben Affleck has been cast to play the husband in the movie version, I’m sure I would immediately picture him as the husband if I read the book, which isn’t necessarily a bad thing. 

Which do you prefer–reading the book version first, or seeing the movie version first? Are there any movies you’ve seen that you think do justice to the books they’re based on?

 

4 thoughts on “Book Version or Movie Version?

  1. I almost always like the book better. I think it is like you said, that movies tend to add in things that weren’t in the book for added interest or they film it in a way that seems totally off from what I imagined when I read the book. I always feel a little disappointed with the movie after reading the book, but if I see the movie first, I usually still really enjoy the book. Maybe I just always like the book version better?

    I haven’t read Gone Girl either, but it seems to be really well liked.

    Like

Leave a Reply

