Book Review: Colliding with Destiny

Unknown

The book of Ruth has always been one of my favorites from the Bible, in part because it’s one of only two with women as the lead characters, and in part because of its powerful story of hope and triumph after tragedy. Although I have not faced adversity as Ruth had (death of her first husband, famine, relocating to a foreign land, having to work in the fields to support herself and her bitterly depressed mother-in-law), I have experienced heartbreak and disappointment. The theme of redemption that is central to the book of Ruth is encouraging to me.

That’s why I was interested to read Colliding with Destiny: Finding Hope in the Legacy of Ruth by Sarah Jakes. Although I’d heard of her father, Bishop T.D. Jakes, until now I was unfamiliar with Jakes’ story. I was surprised to learn that she had been a teenage mother, and that she had gone through a painful divorce as an adult. Not surprisingly, Jakes has also found great encouragement from the book of Ruth.

Each chapter of Colliding with Destiny begins with a brief passage from Ruth, followed by modern-day application of the passage based on Jakes’ personal experiences and insights. At the end of the chapter are some thoughts and questions to prompt the reader to journal, along with an applicable prayer. I appreciated how Jakes was able to glean (no pun intended) so much from a relatively short book of the Bible and break it down into bite-size morsels to really chew on each day. I could see using this book as a daily devotional, and I think it would also provide good discussion fodder for a small group study.

If you need some encouragement and reminding that God is still in the restoration business, you may want to check this one out.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the Bethany House book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255“Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a Reply

