Books to Help Celebrate Christmas & Advent

Recently I had the opportunity to review a couple of books relating to the holiday season. I have to admit that finding the time to read during this particularly hectic time of the year is not always easy, but if you like to read books focusing on Christmas, you may want to consider adding one or both of these to your collection.

The first was Watch for the Light: Readings for Advent and Christmas. This is a collection of essays Unknown-2from a host of writers spanning generations, from “ancient” writers such as Thomas Aquinas and Martin Luther to more modern such as C.S. Lewis and Phillip Yancey. There’s a reading for every day throughout the Advent season, beginning on November 24 (which, fortuitously, was the day that I received the book in the mail) and running through January 7.

Some of the essays are rather short and a quick read, but others are lengthier and a bit weightier. Of course, there were some that I identified with and enjoyed more than others, but that’s usually the case when reading a book featuring a variety of authors. It’s interesting to read the varied perspectives on the Advent of Christ and what it means for us and our world. This has not been one of those devotional books that I can breeze through, but one that definitely gives me a lot of food for thought and helps me focus on what the Christmas season should really be about.

Unknown-3

The other book that I received was Home for Christmas: Stories for Young and Old. As the title suggests, this book features stories from a variety of authors, some well-known to me (such as Pearl S. Buck and Madeline L’Engle), but most whom I’d never heard of (which is probably a sign that I need to expand my reading boundaries).

The stories are designed to be shared with children, but seem to be a bit heavier than the typical children’s story. If you’re looking for “Frosty the Snowman”, look elsewhere. According to the back cover, some of the stories are little-known European tales, which probably explains why all of these stories were new to me.

I had a hard time getting into this book for some reason. I’m sure I would have enjoyed it more if I were reading it to some little ones at bedtime or around a cozy fireplace, but just reading it by myself was not my cup of tea. Still, if you are looking for a collection of stories to share with children or grandchildren, you may find this one to be a good selection.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received these books for free from the publisher through the Handlebar Publishing book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255“Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a Reply

