Unknown-1

Over the years I’ve become fairly consistent with reading Scripture and/or some type of devotional book most mornings, but I’ve wanted to also end my day with a spiritual reading. However, most nights I can barely keep my eyes open or my mind awake enough for an extensive reading. That’s why I was glad to come across Evening Prayers for Every Day of the Year by Christoph Friedrich Blumbardt.

This particular book contains a brief Scripture reading and corresponding prayer for every day of the year. Written by a pastor from the late 19th/early 20th century, the prayers are short but weighty. I find this to be a refreshing change from so many of the trite, self-centered prayers that I too often find myself praying. This is a book I’ll keep on my nightstand and turn to to help “re-set” my soul at the end of the day.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the Handlebar Publishing book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255“Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

