Book Review: Every Bitter Thing Is Sweet

Unknown

When I requested Every Bitter Thing Is Sweet to review, I did so with the intention of passing it along to a friend who was going through a particularly difficult time in her life. I thought it could provide some comfort and encouragement to her, a balm to her hurting soul. What I discovered through reading it was just how much I needed it.

I’d never heard of Sara Hagerty prior to reading this, but I am adding her to my list of favorite authors. She writes with a gut-wrenching honesty about her struggle with infertility, the death of her father, and the challenges of adopting and raising children who come from a world of pain, sadness and abandonment. Although I can’t fully relate to those particular struggles, I do identify with the pain she felt going to baby shower after baby shower, feeling as though her life was incomplete because she was unable to bear a child of her own. I understand her struggles to wait on God and draw near to Him in the midst of her suffering.

As I got closer to the end of the book, I found myself wanting to read only a few pages at a time, to draw out the ending and really savor it. That is when you know you’ve really got a good book on your hands.

I still plan to pass the book on to my friend, but this may have be a loaner book, as I suspect it will be one I’ll want to read again.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookLook Bloggers book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255“Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

One thought on “Book Review: Every Bitter Thing Is Sweet

Leave a Reply

