On My Nightstand: New Year’s Edition

books

With a few days off from work this week, I’m enjoying catching up on some reading that isn’t for a book review. (You may have noticed that I’ve done quite a few reviews lately.) Santa was kind enough to bring me a few new books I’d been wanting, and I’ve found a couple of fun new books at the library lately, so I’m currently in reading heaven. If only I could make reading my full-time job…

RECENTLY READ:

 Every Bitter Thing Is Sweet by Sara Hagerty: This was a freebie book that I got for a review, but it is well worth buying. This book is powerful and touching and one that I will want to read again. You can check out my full review here.

The News Sorority by Sheila Weller: If, like me, you’re a fan of biographies and/or you have an interest in what goes on behind the scenes of the television news, you’ll probably enjoy this. This book takes an inside look at the rise to fame of three leading ladies of the news media, Diane Sawyer, Katie Couric and Christiane Amanpour. I have to admit that I’ve never been a huge fan of Couric’s, and after reading this I’m even less of one. (It definitely gives a less-than-glowing impression of America’s news sweetheart.) Of the three, Amanpour was the one I knew the least about so I enjoyed learning more about her background and her personal life. This was a somewhat long but enjoyable read; I probably wouldn’t have purchased it but stumbled across it at the library, and I’m glad I did.

READING NOW:

Organized Simplicity by Tsh Oxenreider: One of my Christmas gifts, this book’s subtitle (The Clutter-Free Approach to International Living) is what in particular drew me to it. I don’t think I struggle too much with clutter, but I do sometimes hang onto items that I don’t use or need anymore, such as some clothes and household items. I do struggle with living intentionally, particularly when it comes to how I spend my time and even my money to a degree. I want to be more intentional in both of those areas, and to be way more selective about what I buy. Ideally, I’ll buy fewer things but things that I enjoy more, even if they may cost more. I just started the book this weekend but am enjoying it so far. It seems to have some practical tools and advice that I can put into play.

What Alice Forgot by Liane Moriarty: Another library find, I just started this novel on Sunday afternoon and am having a hard time putting it down, always the sign of a good book. The premise is that a young mother-to-be wakes up from losing consciousness to discover that it’s ten years later and she can’t remember anything from the past decade, including the fact that she now has three children and her blissful marriage is in shambles. I suspect I’ll finish this later this week, maybe even before I ring in 2015.

READING NEXT:

Enough: Finding More by Living with Less by Will Davis, Jr:  I recently participated in a blogger book swap and was paired with Madison of The Wetherills Say I Do, who was so sweet that she sent me not one but TWO fabulous books I’d been craving. This was one of them. It seems the older I get, the fewer things I want. Whereas Organized Simplicity offers a fairly practical approach to paring down and living more simply, this one seems to be more focused on the Biblical basis for finding contentment by not focusing on pursuing more, more, more. I’ll be curious to see how much this book pushes me.

You’re Made for a God-Sized Dream by Holley Gerth: I also received this one for Christmas (thanks, Mom and Dad!). I recently discovered Holley’s blog (Coffee for Your Heart) and am looking forward to reading more of her writing. As someone who often feels like she doesn’t know what the heck she’s meant to do in life, I think this book will be an encouraging and insightful read.

A Million Little Ways: Uncover the Art You Were Meant to Live by Emily P. Freeman: Yet another Christmas gift (lucky me!). I consider myself a pretty creative person and was interested in reading more about how God made us to be artists.  Another reason I wanted this book: Emily’s sister, Myquillyn Smith, is the author of The Nesting Place, a book that I loved, loved, LOVED.

Q&A a Day Five-Year Journal: This was my other book from Madison, and I was especially excited to receive it. I’ve journaled off and on for much of my life, although lately (the past year or so) my journaling has dramatically decreased. I was intrigued by this new-to-me approach to journaling, wherein each day you answer a question, ranging from the deep (such as “What is your mission?”) to more simple (such as “What was the last restaurant you went to?”). There are spaces on each page to cover five years so when I finish the journal five years from now I can look back and see how my answers changed (or perhaps stayed the same) over that course of time. It’s like a mini-time capsule and one that I am looking forward to beginning on January 1.

Did you get any new (or new-to-you) books for Christmas? What have you read lately that you would recommend to a fellow book-lover?

8 thoughts on “On My Nightstand: New Year’s Edition

  1. I am fascinated with your book choices. I especially am intrigued by the Q&A Book…. I am about to dive back into reading more. I am in fiction right now, and one of the things on my “Reading Challenge was to read an author with the same initial as yours, so I am reading the Outlander series by Diana Galbaldon…..I am enjoying it.

    Like

  2. I was very encouraged by what I’ve read so far from Emily Freeman’s book. I haven’t finished it yet but liked what I’ve read. I also *loved* Nester’s book. I read it twice! Bought it in two formats! lol 🙂 The Q&A book sounds really neat. I enjoyed your list. Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Great books here! (Found your post through MMD’s reads linkup). I loved Tsh Oxenreider’s Notes From A Blue Bike–that might be a good one to check into if you like Organized Simplicity. I LOVED ‘A Million Little Ways’ by Emily Freeman–it reminds me of my favorite book on the planet: Walking On Water: Reflections on Faith & Art by Madeleine L’Engle. For Christmas, I got a book of essays by Ann Patchett (This Is The Story of A Happy Marriage) that I’ve heard raves about, as Simple Acts of Moving Forward (a book about getting unstuck) by Vinita Hampton Wright. Happy New Year & Happy Reading!

    Like

Leave a Reply

