My Verse for 2015 with New Art for Under $1

From time to time I’ll come across a particular Scripture that really stands out and I just know that that verse is meant for me at that particular time. Years ago, it was John 10:10, a verse that inspired the title of this blog:

“The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy; I have come that they may have life, and have it to the full.” 

A few months ago I was drawn to Proverbs 31:25:

“She is clothed with strength and dignity, and she laughs without fear of the future.”

As I mentioned in this earlier post, I printed out that verse and placed it above my kitchen stove where I could be reminded of it several times a day.

A couple of weeks ago I was reading through the Psalms. As I read Psalm 32:8, I sensed that God was putting this verse on my heart for 2015:

“The Lord says, ‘I will guide you along the best pathway for your life.
    I will advise you and watch over you.'”

I think the reason that this particular verse has struck a chord with me is that one of the more challenging aspects of being single is often feeling like I’m all alone in my decision making. Sure, I can bounce ideas off of other people and get advice from family and friends, but ultimately most decisions are mine alone to make, and that can be a pretty scary feeling. Verses like this one remind me that it’s really not up to me to figure everything out for my life.

As with the verse from Proverbs, I decided to display this new verse in my kitchen–and I managed to turn it into artwork for under a buck! I re-used the existing frame and printed the verse onto a piece of white card stock that I already had. The only cost to me was a sheet of zigzag patterned paper that I found at Hobby Lobby for a whopping 59 cents plus tax. I’m rather pleased with the end result, which is now gracing the spot above my stove:

IMG_1719

Is there a particular verse that is speaking to you right now?

One thought on “My Verse for 2015 with New Art for Under $1

Leave a Reply

