Back Again

Despite the fact that my lack of blogging over the past couple of months would indicate otherwise, I did not actually fall off the face of the earth. I’ve once again run into a busy time at work where I’ve had to do a lot of writing, which typically translates into me coming home creatively spent and just wanting to curl up on the couch for a night of HGTV. But I am once again feeling the pull to get back into writing on a somewhat consistent basis, so perhaps my next hiatus won’t last quite so long.

What I’ve been up to (besides work and “Fixer Upper” marathons):

I survived my half-marathon, came in under my goal time and in fact beat my time from when I last ran that particular race, so I was quite pleased. I was also extremely thankful that my prayers were answered to come through the race injury free, without so much as a blister (investing in good socks is worth it, believe me). After three half-marathons, I still have no desire to run a full marathon, but never say never. A decade or so ago I probably would not imagined wanting to run a half, so who knows what I’ll end up doing.

This morning I ran a 10K (6.2 mile) race, my first race since last month’s half-marathon, and I have to confess that it was a struggle. I finished dead last, which isn’t so bad considering there were only about 20 of us who ran the 10K portion. I would definitely have liked to do better, but I’ve had some congestion this week that likely slowed me down, not to mention the fact that I’ve only run a handful of times since the half.

My next race is two weeks away (a 5K this time, although downtown which equals plenty of hills), so I’m going to try to stay on track with running a few times a week to prepare. I’m registered for one more race in May, then that may be it for races until the fall.

I’m pleased to report that I’m on track to meet my goal of reading 30 books in 2015. I’ve updated my Reading Challenge page so you can check out what I’ve read lately. I’ve been invited to participate in a book club, and I’m planning to read their latest selection so I can take part in their meeting at the end of the month. I’m excited about meeting some new people (hopefully making some new friends) through the book club. I feel like I’ve been wrapped up with work so much that my social circle has shrunk a bit and I’ve become somewhat of a hermit at home. It’s time to get back out and have more of a social life.

3 thoughts on “Back Again

  1. I have already read over 30 books this year…..of course Audible and Overdrive (library audio books) have helped a lot. I do spend a lot of time in the car…..

    Like

    1. Wow, Donna, I’m impressed! I’ll often listen to podcasts in the car or while I’m working out, but I have yet to get into audio books. For some reason I still prefer reading them over listening to them, but maybe the next time I have a long car ride I’ll give them a try.

      Like

Leave a Reply

