Something New: Book Club

Several months ago, a Facebook friend (Missy from Our Neck of the Woods) mentioned a book that her ladies’ book club had recently read. Being (a) a lady and (b) a book lover, my curiosity was piqued. I asked her about the book club and she graciously invited me to attend a meeting sometime. With work finally slowing down now, the time was right for me to attend this week’s meeting.

I have to admit that I was a bit nervous about walking into a home filled with mostly strangers. There were a handful of people there that I knew as acquaintances but had not seen in years. Would I be the only single, childless woman there? Would everyone be talking about their families while I sat there mute? Would there be tons of inside jokes and stories that I wouldn’t get because I was a newbie? Would I spend the entire night hoping the meeting would end as quickly as possible? It’s funny how my mind can run wild with worry when I’m heading into an unknown situation.

As it turns out, I need not have worried. I was welcomed warmly and felt right at home. After eating finger foods and dessert, we settled into a spirited discussion of the book assigned for this meeting: The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society by Mary Ann Shaffer. (You can read my mini-review of the book here.) I did not look at my watch once during the meeting, which means that I enjoyed every moment of it.

All in all, I’m glad I stepped out of my comfort zone. The next book club meeting likely won’t be until later in the summer but I’m already looking forward to it. I’ve realized that I have really put my social life on the back burner lately as I’ve been focused on my work, and I’m ready for a season of change where work is not as high a priority. My work/life balance has been woefully uneven lately and it’s time to recalibrate.

Have you ever participated in a book club? Or are you trying anything new to get you out of your comfort zone?

Leave a Reply

