Book Review: How to Get Dressed

Unknown

Over the years I’ve read quite a few books in the personal wardrobe and style genre, some great (Tim Gunn’s A Guide to Quality, Taste and Style being a particular favorite) and some not-so-great. Most books of that persuasion tend to regurgitate the same information about what “should” be in every woman’s wardrobe (the iconic Little Black Dress, a crisp white button-down, a classic trench, etc.) or how to dress for your body type. Although I was eager to review Alison Freer’s How to Get Dressed, I was also afraid that it would be more of the same.

To my surprise, Freer’s book does not focus on what should be in your wardrobe or how to dress if you’re a pear shape versus an apple shape, but rather how to make your clothes fit you and make you look good. As a Hollywood costume designer with sewing in her blood (her great-great grandmother was a seamstress for the Ringling Bros. & Barnum & Bailey Circus in the 1920s), Freer has plenty of insider knowledge and styling secrets to share, and she does not hold back, much to my delight.

The book covers such topics as how crucial fit is in making or breaking an outfit, the various alterations that can be rather inexpensively made that can make a huge difference, and how to store and care for clothing (including a nice appendix on dealing with various stains).  There’s even a chapter on how to do laundry, which was surprisingly interesting to me (and convinced me that I really need to be diligent in separating my clothes rather than throwing them all in the washer in one load).

This really was a fun and informative read. As I try to pare down my wardrobe to items that truly look good on me and make me feel good in them, Freer’s expertise will come in quite handy.

I received this book for free from Blogging for Books for this review. All opinions stated are my own and I was under no obligation to offer a positive review. 

Leave a Reply

