_240_360_Book.1565.cover

I’ve read Rachel Held Evans’ blog periodically for a couple of years now and, while not always in agreement with her opinions, I’ve found her writing to be interesting and always make me think, so I was particularly interested in reviewing her new book, Searching for Sunday.

In the book, Evans chronicles her often-rocky faith journey, having been raised in a rather typical evangelical church and finding herself struggling as an adult to recapture the zeal for the church of her childhood. She tells her own stories, as well as those of others seeking to find where they fit into church, through seven sections, playing off the theme of the seven sacraments (baptism, confession, holy orders, communion, confirmation, anointing of the sick and marriage).

The book seems to be aimed at those who likewise struggle with their identity as it relates to church, and admittedly this is something I struggle with at times as well. There were times when I feel out of place at church but am unsure where else to go or what to do to remedy that disconnection, so I found could identify with some of the stories shared in Evans’ book.

The book is more of a series of essays than a cohesive memoir, and the chapters are fairly short so it was easy to read two or three at a time each night before bed. As with her blog, there were some points on which I don’t share Evans’ opinions or approach toward church, but overall I found the book to be an interesting take on her on-again, off-again love affair with church.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookLook Bloggers book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255“Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

