Book Review: I’m Happy for You (Sort Of…Not Really)

Unknown-1

 

The title alone of Kay Wills Wyma’s book, I’m Happy for You (Sort Of…Not Really), was enough to convince me to read it. If there’s ever been a time that our culture needed a wake-up call for dealing with contentment in an age of comparison, it’s now. With Facebook status updates routinely trumpeting the latest accomplishments and whirlwind social lives of our friends, it is all too easy to feel like we come up short in comparison.

Wyma skillfully and insightfully addresses the dangers of comparison and how to deal with it in a healthy, Godly manner. Sprinkled throughout the book are notes from others (her blog readers, I’m assuming?) sharing their own struggles with comparison and trying to find contentment. There’s a brief discussion guide at the end of the book, and given that this subject is such a common struggle, I think the book would be great fodder for a small group study.

I received this book for free for review from Blogging for Books. All opinions stated are my own and I was under no obligation to offer a positive review. 

 

Leave a Reply

