_140_245_Book.1605.cover

Although I’d heard of Jennie Allen, founder if IF: Gathering, I’d never read any of her work, so I was curious to learn more about her by reading her book, AnythingIn the book, Allen talks about the ways that God moved when she and her husband, tired of a complacent, comfortable life, boldly prayed that they would do anything He asked them to do.

The main “anything” discussed in the book that God led them to do was the eventual adoption of their son. In addition to sharing her own story, Allen includes stories of others who abandoned their own dreams to pursue what God had in store for them. I appreciated the fact that she did not sugarcoat things and make it sound like giving your dreams over to God is a piece of cake; she discusses the difficulties that can come when we pray a prayer of abandonment and how Satan often attacks those trying to pursue God’s plans.

The book includes a study guide, ideal for those who want to use the book in a small group setting. While Allen’s insights are really not much different to me than other authors, such as Jen Hatmaker (who I am more familiar with), I’d be open to reading more of her work.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookLook Bloggers book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

