Throwing in the Towel: A Book Review of The Little Paris Bookshop

51Vu-F8bxOL._SX320_BO1,204,203,200_

The Little Paris Bookshop by Nina George is the tale of Monsier Perdu, the lonely, heartbroken owner of a bookstore located on a barge on the Seine–a floating “literary apothecary”, as it’s referred to–who can “prescribe” books for others but can’t shake the haunting loss of a past love. One day he impulsively takes off on a trip to the south of France, joined along the way by an author and a chef, to try to make peace with his past while using books to “cure” the ailments of those he meets along the way.

Oh, dear readers, I so wanted to like this book. Any book about Paris is an immediate draw for me, and the added fact of the book centering around books made me even more eager to get my hands on this and start reading it.

Alas, that eagerness did not last long when it came to actually reading it. For some reason, I simply could not get into the story. Having read it for about three weeks and still only halfway through with little desire to finish it, I reluctantly decided it was time to call it a loss.

Perhaps now is just not the time for me to read this particular book; maybe I need to come back to it another time and finish it. Or perhaps, despite the subject matter which would normally hit my literary sweet spot, this is just not the book for me. The book has garnered many glowing reviews on Amazon and other sites so obviously there are plenty of people who have read it all the way through and enjoyed it; I’m just not one of them {yet, anyway}.

I received this book for free for review from Blogging for Books. All opinions stated are my own and I was under no obligation to offer a positive review. 

2 thoughts on “Throwing in the Towel: A Book Review of The Little Paris Bookshop

  1. Oh I agree!!! I don’t even think I made it half way before I threw in the towel. :/ I’ve had a few books like that lately where it gets glowing reviews, and I’m sitting here wondering how? I do still have this one on my shelf because I feel like maybe if I come back to it later. Right now I’m on a romance kick and maybe that’s why this wasn’t doing it for me?

    Like

Leave a Reply

