diaryFrom time to time I sense God giving me a particular word or thought to chew on, a “theme”, if you will, for my life in that particular time. Not too long ago, the words cultivate a grateful heart kept coming to me. Boy, how I needed that reminder, because it is all too easy for me to focus on what I don’t have rather than what I do have.

I’ve kept a journal off and on for much of my life and there have been periods of time when I’ll use my journal to chronicle some of the things I’m grateful for, namely particular blessings or good things that happened to me that day. I’m sensing a pull to pick up that habit again; even on what I term a “bad day”, it usually doesn’t take long for me to come up with at least one good thing to record if I think hard enough about it.

Writing thoughts of gratitude in a journal is the way I usually take stock of my blessings (besides naming them aloud in prayer), but I’m wondering if I should try a different method. One trick I’ve heard of is writing things you’re grateful for on individual scraps of paper and putting them in a jar, then opening the jar later in the year (Thanksgiving or New Year’s Eve, perhaps). There are also a variety of mobile apps to serve as a digital gratitude journal, which would make journaling on the go easier rather than trying to remember at the end of the day all the good things that happened that day.

Regardless of what method I choose to record what I’m thankful for, I know that the practice of doing it helps me remember just how blessed I am. Let’s start with a few things that I’m thankful for today:

• Cooler temperatures and MUCH lower humidity made for an easier boot camp workout early this morning.

• I got in a good creative frame of mind and made huge progress on a work project that I’d been putting off for a while.

• Got some fun mail (a magazine–no bills!)

• Was able to knock out my Costco shopping tonight after work when it was far less crowded than it would be on the weekend.

Now it’s your turn–what’s a good thing that’s happened today that you’re thankful for? Do you write down or record your blessings in any way? How do you consistently keep an attitude of gratitude?

