Book Review: For the Love

_225_350_Book.1649.cover

My latest book review is of For the Love, the much-anticipated release from author/speaker/reality show star Jen Hatmaker.

I was first introduced to Hatmaker a few years ago through a Bible study at my church that was based on her best-selling book, 7: An Experimental Mutiny Against Excess. I’ve read her blog a few times and watched a couple of episodes of her recent HGTV show which chronicled her family’s renovation of an old farmhouse. While this is only the second book I’ve read from her, I expected it to be, if nothing else, an entertaining read, which it was.

Subtitled “Fighting for Grace in a World of Impossible Standards,” For the Love, surprisingly, is not all about grace. It is a series of essays, some serious, some not-so-serious and some (in my opinion) downright silly. While I do appreciate a good sense of humor mixed in, I find that I really only like her humor in limited doses. I wish that she had dialed down the wacky humor a bit and had some more serious chapters, particularly when addressing the topic of grace. (And yes, I realize that is may seem un-grace-like to criticize someone for not writing about grace…but if that’s supposed to be the premise behind your book, I sort of expect you to live up to that.)

The book was a very quick and easy read; I finished it in about three days and found quite a bit that I wanted to underline and remember. All in all, it was a good book but just not a great one by my expectations; then again, given that I am not a Hatmaker “superfan” it may be that I am just not the audience for her writing style.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookLook Bloggers book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a Reply

