31 Days Challenge, Day 3: Daily Bread

31 days prayer challenge

Our Father, which art in heaven,
Hallowed be thy Name.
Thy Kingdom come. 
Thy will be done in earth, 
As it is in heaven.
Give us this day our daily bread.
And forgive us our trespasses,
As we forgive them that trespass against us. 
And lead us not into temptation, 
But deliver us from evil. 
For thine is the kingdom, 
The power, and the glory, 
For ever and ever. 
Amen.
(Matthew 6:9-13)

For many of us, the Lord’s Prayer, found in Matthew 6, was one of the first prayers we learned. It was Jesus’ response to His disciples asking Him to teach them to pray and it continues to be recited by millions today.

One of the phrases in this prayer that stands out to me is “our daily bread.” Here, bread refers to more than mere food; it represents everything that we need, physically as well as emotionally and spiritually. I think particular attention should be paid to the word “daily”. To me, it emphasizes the importance of approaching God in prayer on a regular–daily–basis.

Does that mean that if I don’t pray every day that God won’t give me what I need? No–there have been many days when I didn’t spend time in prayer, and God still provided what I needed. I think the point is not so much in asking so that we can receive, but daily recognizing that all that we have comes from God. I don’t know about you, but it is so easy for me to forget that He is my true provider. I’ve found that on the days when I skip my prayer time and don’t acknowledge what He’s done for me, I lose focus and start thinking that everything revolves around and depends on me. Conversely, when I’m consistently praying, it’s easier to set my mind on Godly things and trust Him to meet all of my needs, including those needs that I have no clue that I need.

Do you see a difference in your life–in your outlook, your attitude, your thoughts–when you’re spending time in prayer on a regular basis?

31 Days link button

This post is one in a series on prayer as part of the 31 Days Challenge. Read more posts in the series here.

3 thoughts on “31 Days Challenge, Day 3: Daily Bread

  1. I love the Lord’s Prayer, I’m so glad this is the post I turned to today on your blog. A sweet gift I use regularly to help me pray – well. And, I believe praying leads me to a life well lived. Bread (well I’m a Norwegian bread loving gal) and needs for life (peace, particularly) needs daily gathering. Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

