31 Days Challenge, Day 11: Keeping Silent

31 days prayer challenge

Most times when I’m in prayer, I’m doing the talking, giving thanks for what God’s done for me, praising God for who He is, and petitioning Him for various needs and requests. But I sometimes forget that prayer, like any communication among friends, is best when it’s a two-way street and I allow room for God to speak to me as well.

Although our church doesn’t often sing it now, growing up a common song sung was the simple hymn based on Habakkuk 2:20: “But the LORD is in his holy temple; let all the earth keep silence before him.” It was usually sung at the beginning of a church service to signal that it was time for everyone to stop visiting with each other and focus on worship, something akin to dimming the lights at a theater before the curtain goes up.

This morning that song came to my mind and I realized that it’s not just referring to being silent when we’re in church. When God through the Holy Spirit dwells in us, our bodies are His holy temples (I Corinthians 6:19-20). And while there are certainly times when I need to talk to God, there are also times when I need to silence myself and listen to what He has to say to me. I shudder to think how many times He’s tried to speak to me and I’ve been too busy focusing on what I want to say that I miss the message altogether.

My challenge to myself today (and to you, too) is to practice silencing myself before the Lord and listening to Him.

31 Days link button

This post is one in a series on prayer as part of the 31 Days Challenge. Read more posts in the series here.

One thought on “31 Days Challenge, Day 11: Keeping Silent

Leave a Reply

