31 days prayer challenge

“I also tell you this: If two of you agree here on earth concerning anything you ask, my Father in heaven will do it for you.” (Matthew 18:19)

Confess your sins to each other and pray for each other so that you may be healed. The earnest prayer of a righteous person has great power and produces wonderful results. (James 5:16)

Share each other’s burdens, and in this way obey the law of Christ. (Galatians 6:2)

I am great at praying for others.

I am not so great at asking for prayers from others for myself.

I think that part of the reason I hesitate to ask for prayers is good old fashioned pride. It’s hard to admit that everything is not peachy-keen in my world sometimes. Living alone, I don’t have a built-in person to gauge how I’m doing (although I know that having a roommate or spouse does not automatically equal having someone who can readily take your temperature), and it’s all too easy to go to work or church or Bible study or social events and pretend that everything’s a-ok when it’s not.

Another reason that asking for prayers can be difficult for me is that I begin to compare my prayer requests with others, and I feel like mine are small potatoes in comparison. When my biggest prayer need is for healing from a cold, and the person sitting next to me is asking for prayers for their cancer treatment, my ailment suddenly seems small and insignificant in comparison. Of course, when I begin to make excuses like that, I’m forgetting the admonition by Paul in Ephesians (our passage from yesterday’s Monday Meditation) to pray for all things:

Pray in the Spirit at all times and on every occasion. Stay alert and be persistent in your prayers for all believers everywhere. (Ephesians 6:18)

It really is silly that I hesitate to seek out prayers for myself, when I get so much pleasure in praying for other people. I’m honored when someone asks me to pray for them. Why would I think that others wouldn’t likewise feel honored and delighted to pray for me in turn?

I’m thankful that I do have several close friends who I do feel comfortable sharing prayer requests with, even though my first inclination when I’m dealing with trouble or heartache is often to try to deal with it myself. In learning to be dependent more and more on God, I’m also learning to let go of my pride and let others help carry my burdens, which will in turn free me up to help shoulder other’s loads as well. We’re in all this together–something I need to remember frequently.

Is asking for prayers easy for you to do or a bit of a struggle?

31 Days link button

This post is one in a series on prayer as part of the 31 Days Challenge. Read more posts in the series here.

