31 Days of Prayer, Day 15: Thankful for a Change in Seasons

31 days prayer challengeAfter what seemed to be an endless summer, our area is finally starting to feel like fall. Although the temps are still climbing into the low to mid-80s most of this week, the mornings and evenings are at least cooling off quite a bit and the humidity is much lower. I wore capris and a light zip-up jacket on my morning run today and it felt awesome.

Fall is my favorite season of the year, for a multitude of reasons–the gorgeous colors of the trees, getting to dive into my sweater and boots collections, the abundance of pumpkin spice everything. But perhaps the best part of fall is getting relief at last from the scorching heat of summer. Summer and winter always feel like they will never end to me, so when fall and spring finally roll around, it is cause for celebration in my book.

I can’t tell you how many times over the years that I’ve cried out to God in sheer frustration over a seemingly endless uncomfortable (or downright painful) season of my life. Sometimes those seasons last only a few weeks and sometimes they drag on for years, but in my limited point of view they are always entirely too long. Can’t I learn whatever lesson God wants to teach me in a couple of days and move on to a happier season? So many prayers have included the words, “How long, O Lord?”

I can’t explain God’s rationale behind having me endure difficult seasons that stretch on far longer than I think is necessary, but deep down I know that He has very good reasons–the very best of reasons, in fact–for having these difficult seasons continue. And perhaps one of those reasons is that, when that difficult season finally ends and we enter into a brand new season of life, we will be more thankful for that change.

These crisp, cool fall mornings remind me that, although they may seem to drag on without end, seasons do not last forever. There is always something new on the horizon. How thankful I am for that!

31 Days link button

This post is one in a series on prayer as part of the 31 Days Challenge. Read more posts in the series here.

One thought on “31 Days of Prayer, Day 15: Thankful for a Change in Seasons

Leave a Reply

