31 Days Challenge, Day 16: Praying on the Spot

31 days prayer challenge“I’ll be praying for you.”

How many times have you promised to pray for someone, and then forgot to follow through? I’ve been guilty of that many times, I’m afraid. Sometimes I think that, when someone shares a need or struggle with us, “I’ll be praying for you” is one of those feel-good responses, but it becomes empty words when we don’t actually pray for that person.

As I said, I’ve been guilty of this, so in the past few years I’ve really tried to make a conscious effort to not just tell someone I’ll be praying for them but to actually do it. I find that God is faithful to bring these people to mind, and when He does I try to say an immediate prayer (either aloud or in silence, depending on where I am) while those people are fresh on my mind.

Even better than that is not just telling someone we’ll pray for them, but taking the time to pray with them right then and there. That is not something that I often do, but on those occasions where I’ve offered to pray for someone on the spot, I’ve never had anyone refuse or act ungrateful for it. On the contrary, praying for someone in person (or on the phone) is quite encouraging and uplifting, for both the pray-er and the pray-ee, if I do say so.

The next time  you hear of someone needing some prayers, immediately lift them up in prayer. Even if you’re not sure of what they need or what to pray for on their behalf, God knows. And if He brings that person to your mind again later, pray for them again. I don’t think there’s any such thing as too much prayer!

31 Days link button

This post is one in a series on prayer as part of the 31 Days Challenge. Read more posts in the series here.

One thought on “31 Days Challenge, Day 16: Praying on the Spot

Leave a Reply

