31 days prayer challengeThere are some days, like today, when I just don’t know what to pray for. It’s not that I don’t know–or at least think I know–what I need; it’s just that sometimes it’s hard to put into words what my heart is really longing for. This morning I was feeling tired, worn out (and it’s only Tuesday–yikes), distracted, and having a hard time stringing coherent sentences together.

Thank goodness we don’t have to have it all figured out. God has gifted us with the Holy Spirit, who, among His many other benefits, prays on our behalf.

And the Holy Spirit helps us in our weakness. For example, we don’t know what God wants us to pray for. But the Holy Spirit prays for us with groanings that cannot be expressed in words. And the Father who knows all hearts knows what the Spirit is saying, for the Spirit pleads for us believers in harmony with God’s own will. (Romans 8:26-27)

Even on days when I’m able to pray for myself, I’m glad for the Holy Spirit interceding in prayer for me. How gracious of God to meet us in our weaknesses and give us exactly what we need!

31 Days link button

This post is one in a series on prayer as part of the 31 Days Challenge. Read more posts in the series here.

