31 Days Challenge, Day 27: Praying for Peace and Rest

31 days prayer challenge

 Then Jesus said, “Come to me, all of you who are weary and carry heavy burdens, and I will give you rest.” (Matthew 11:28)

“I am leaving you with a gift—peace of mind and heart. And the peace I give is a gift the world cannot give. So don’t be troubled or afraid.” (John 14:27)

Over the years I’ve discovered that I’m someone who thrives off of routine. That doesn’t mean that I don’t enjoy some spontaneity now and then (at the right time, of course); I just tend to handle life a little better when I know what to expect. I sleep better when I’m going to bed at a consistent time. I eat better when I’m planning my meals in advance and sticking to pretty regular meal times. And I definitely feel better overall when I’m working out or running on a regular basis, especially on those days when it’s extra-hard to drag myself out of bed.

I can tell that I’m a routine-thriver because of the stress I feel over having my routine turned upside down. This week marks the beginning of several renovation projects at my house–namely a bathroom remodel, new flooring installed and existing hardwood floors refinished. Barring any unforeseen issues (knock on wood), it should take around three weeks to complete, which, in the grand scheme of things, is just a blip on the radar. But already I’m sensing that this could be a long three weeks.

I’m having to drop my dog off at my parents’ house on my way to work and pick her up afterwards this week while the reno crew works on that bathroom. And next week, while the floors are being refinished, my pup and I will have to move out altogether and stay at my parents’ house until the floors are done. I’ll actually be out of town for work for part of that week so the schedule works well for having to be out of the house, but I’m already beginning to dread having to pack for both the stay at my parents’ and my trip.

On top of dealing with these renovation projects, I’m staying busy at work preparing for our annual convention next week. And I’ve got a dentist appointment this week. And I discovered that I’ve got a headlight out on my car, which means I’ll have to find time to take it to the mechanic soon. One after another, the responsibilities piled on, and I began to feel overwhelmed.

Last night, after picking up my dog from her doggy daycare at my parents’ house, I was feeling so worn out and stressed out when I got home that I decided to skip Bible study. And I hate that because I’ve really enjoyed my Monday night study, but I was afraid I’d be in danger of nodding off in the middle of it had I gone.

Instead, I spent some much-needed time in prayer, pouring out my worries and stresses about all of these projects that are seemingly taking over my life right now. I prayed that I’d have peace in the midst of what feels a bit like chaos right now, and that, despite my little routine being shaken up, I’d be able to rest–physically as well as mentally and spiritually. How thankful I am for Jesus’ promises to give us peace and rest, and for His faithfulness to come through on His promises!

31 Days link button

This post is one in a series on prayer as part of the 31 Days Challenge. Read more posts in the series here.

3 thoughts on “31 Days Challenge, Day 27: Praying for Peace and Rest

Leave a Reply

