Book Review: Cheap Chic

51vTuZ4GSKL._SX398_BO1,204,203,200_

As a longtime fan of all things fashion, I was particularly interested in reading the 40th anniversary edition of Cheap Chic by Caterine Millionaire and Carol Troy. It was originally published in the 70s, when I was a small child, and I was unfamiliar with it until now. However, I understand that it’s considered by many to be a classic guide to dressing for less.

Surprisingly, the book offers a lot of advice and practical tips on bargain dressing that is still relevant today, but I was more interested in the vintage photos featured throughout that show the best (and sometimes worst) of 70s fashion. Sprinkled throughout are interviews with designers and fashion icons, such as Diana Vreeland and Yves Saint Laurent. Particularly amusing to me was the appendix of recommended clothing stores and mail-order companies, complete with addresses; I’m curious as to just how many of these companies are still in existence today.

The book was fun to peruse, but I have a feeling I’d have enjoyed it more had I actually been old enough in the 70s to wear some of the fashions featured. For those who are old enough to remember the good, the bad and the ugly of that fashion era, this book could make for a fun walk down memory lane.

I received this book for free for review from Blogging for Books. All opinions stated are my own and I was under no obligation to offer a positive review. 

Leave a Reply

