The Silver Lining

clouds

I kicked off my first work week of 2016 with an unwelcome visitor: a head cold. Heading back to work after more than a week off is hard enough, but heading back when you’re feeling under the weather is a real challenge.

I couldn’t help smiling when I saw the following quote today, as it fits in perfectly with how I’m trying to focus my mind right now:

Be thankful for the bad things in life, for they opened your eyes to the good things you weren’t paying attention to before!

Despite not feeling 100%, I’ve been able to come up with several reasons to be thankful in the midst of my current bad thing (sickness):

• Other than a lot of sinus congestion, I (so far) haven’t felt too bad. (Breathing through one’s nose is overrated anyway, right?)

• If I HAD to get sick, at least it happened at a fairly good time–after my Christmas vacation and before my trip to Las Vegas in a couple of weeks.

• I had the means to go by the grocery store after work last night and stock up on some supplies to help me feel better (and some of them were even on sale, bonus!).

• I made plenty of this soup over the weekend, which is definitely hitting the spot.

 

I’ve got a race coming up this weekend that I’m anxious about; even when I’m feeling 100% it’s a pretty challenging course, so depending on if this cold is sticking around by Saturday I may have to bow out. I’m not going to worry about that now, though; there’s still several days for me to recover. In the meantime, I’m taking good care of myself and focusing on that silver lining.

Leave a Reply

