On My Nightstand (Reading & Recently Read)

IMG_0072Every now and then I like to share what books I’ve just finished reading, am currently reading, and are about to start reading. It’s not unusual for me to be reading more than one book at a time; I often have a fiction and non-fiction book or two in progress simultaneously and switch back and forth depending on what I’m in the mood for that particular day.

Just finished:

The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins. I’ve been wanting to read this since its’ debut last year, and have been faithfully looking for it every time I’ve gone to the library. A co-worker happened to mention the other day that she’d just finished reading it and when I told her that I’d been looking for it with no luck, she graciously offered to loan me her copy. If you are looking for a good thriller that will keep you guessing, this is it. I couldn’t put it down and polished if off in two days. I look forward to reading more from Hawkins in the future.

Currently reading:

Interrupted: When Jesus Wrecks Your Comfortable Christianity by Jen Hatmaker. I’ve read a couple of her other books (7 and For the Love) and was excited to receive this one for Christmas. I’m almost halfway through it and so far Hatmaker is doing a good job of stepping all over my toes. She’s given me a lot of food for thought, particularly when she shared her own conviction in realizing that she’d been spending her time “blessing blessed people and serving the saved” and not so much time focusing on those outside the church who are in need. Ouch. This is one of those books that is hard at times to read but the message is one I really need to hear right now.

About to read:

Blog Inc. by Joy Deangdeelert Cho. I actually started this book sometime last year, got sidetracked along the way and never finished it, so I’m starting over from the beginning. Since I’ve set several goals for growing and enhancing my blog this year, I think this book will be a good resource and give me some fresh ideas.

Every Body Matters by Gary L. Thomas (not pictured). I’ve read this one a couple of times, and it always leaves me feeling inspired and motivated to recommit to taking good care of this body God’s given me. I love how Thomas explains the correlation between the physical and the spiritual as well as the spiritual implications of physical fitness and good health.

I’ll be tracking all of the books I read throughout the year here as I work toward completing my 2016 Reading Challenge.

Do you also read more than one book at a time? What books are you currently reading or have recently read that you loved?

One thought on “On My Nightstand (Reading & Recently Read)

  1. Pingback: Over the Weekend |

Leave a Reply

