Off the Menu

Off the menu

I just returned from a trip to Las Vegas, where I attended a work conference. (Tough job but somebody’s got to do it, right?) My co-worker and I spent the majority of our days in meetings and our nights wining and dining several of our association members. Las Vegas has become a food lovers’ paradise, and there was no shortage of incredible restaurants to try.

One night, we went to a Japanese restaurant that was recommended by a couple of our members. While perusing the menu and trying to decide which of the delectable-sounding dishes to order, our waiter said that he’d be glad to make suggestions. We decided to forego deciding altogether and leave our meal in the hands of the waiter to bring us whatever dishes he thought we’d enjoy.

What came next was an amazing assortment of sushi, sashimi and warm dishes, from hamachi to king crab to tuna to Chilean sea bass. I like to think of myself as a fairly adventurous eater, but I have a tendency to order dishes that I’ve either had before or are at least somewhat familiar with. By taking a risk in trusting our waiter, who knows the menu inside and out, we were treated to quite a few dishes that we’d never had before but that were insanely delicious. Left to our own devices to order, there’s no doubt we would have had some great food (I don’t think there was anything on the menu that wouldn’t please our palates), but we would have missed out on a truly incredible meal.

Later that evening, I thought about how crazy it is that I’m willing to trust a waiter whom I’ve never met before and who doesn’t really know me, and yet I still struggle at times to trust the God who made me and knows every fiber of my being.

You saw me before I was born.
    Every day of my life was recorded in your book.
Every moment was laid out
    before a single day had passed.

How precious are your thoughts about me, O God.
    They cannot be numbered!
I can’t even count them;
    they outnumber the grains of sand!
And when I wake up,
    you are still with me! (Psalm 139:16-18)

God not only knows me, He knows exactly what I need, when I need it. He has proven that to be true time and time again. The older I get, the more I feel like I’m relying on Him and growing my faith, although there are many times when I still question and worry and fret over what He’s doing and where He’s taking me. I’m thankful that He can use experiences like dinner in Las Vegas to remind me that my life is so much better when I leave it to Him to direct my steps rather than trying to figure things out on my own.

One thought on “Off the Menu

  1. Pingback: Over the Weekend |

Leave a Reply

