Over the Weekend

Over the weekend

Eating: Skinny Mexican Casserole courtesy of Damn Delicious. This was a new recipe for me and I deemed it a winner. In my book, it’s hard to go wrong with any recipe that includes tortillas, black beans, refried beans, corn, bell peppers, fresh cilantro and plenty of shredded cheese. I’ll be making this again.

Drinking: Another new recipe, this one for Red Wine Hot Chocolate from immaEATthat. Given the freezing temps outside (no snow for us down here aside from a few flurries, just cold and wind), I thought it would be the perfect nightcap to warm me up. It was indeed delicious, but SUPER rich. I halved the recipe and still couldn’t finish it.

Also drinking: A Skinny Cinnamon Dolce Latte from Starbucks, a free Sunday afternoon treat thanks to their rewards program. During the week I’ve done pretty well to avoid sugar but I’m giving myself a little more leeway on the weekend.

Reading: As if I didn’t already have enough books in my reading rotation, I added yet another: Spark Joy by Marie Kondo. This is the follow-up to Kondo’s bestseller, The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up, which I read last year. Although some of her advice seems a bit on the, well, kooky side, overall I found her first book to be a good motivator to do some de-cluttering of my own. I’m looking forward to diving into this newest release, which includes illustrated details about how to master her folding method and other organizational hints. I received Spark Joy as a review copy and will be sharing my review of it when I’ve finished it. I have a feeling it will “spark” some more de-cluttering and cleaning out very soon.

Watching: My recently recorded episodes of “The Blacklist” and “Downton Abbey”. I’m playing catch-up after missing some shows during this week’s trip to Las Vegas. Despite feeling frustrated at times with “The Blacklist”, I have to say that this season keeps getting better and better with each episode. And I may or may not have teared up a teensy bit during the Carson-Hughes wedding on “Downton”.

Loving: This video showing what happened when Gainesville Police Officer Bobby White made good on his promise to return to play basketball with a group of neighborhood kids. He brought some back-up that made for a game that these kids will never forget.

For those of you trapped inside by Winter Storm Jonas this weekend, I hope you’ve managed to stay warm and find a way to enjoy the snow! Let me know if you watched/read/ate/drank anything good!

 

 

Leave a Reply

