Do over

Do you ever have one of those days where you just wish you could start all over? Yesterday was one of those for me, as I was having a definite case of the Mondays. I was already feeling pretty stressed out about my growing to-do list at work, and when an unexpected, potentially major project was dropped into my lap I did not handle it well. I let my stress  boil over and said a few not-so-lovely things to a co-worker as I vented my frustration. For a good part of the day I had a rather rotten attitude and was just ready to go home and crawl under a blanket and not speak to anyone for a good long while.

Thankfully, my attitude had lightened considerably by day’s end, and today I felt much better. How thankful I am for reminders like in Lamentations 3 that God is gracious in granting “do-overs” on a regular basis.

The steadfast love of the Lord never ceases;
    his mercies never come to an end;
they are new every morning;
    great is your faithfulness.
“The Lord is my portion,” says my soul,
    “therefore I will hope in him.” (Lamentations 3:22-24)

