Book Review: Spark Joy

410sn-mdGaL._SX351_BO1,204,203,200_

When I was offered the opportunity to review Spark Joy by Marie Kondo, I jumped at the chance. Last year I read her best-seller, The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up, and thoroughly enjoyed it. It’s surprising how much buzz a little book about organization can generate, but Kondo’s methods–which may seem a bit odd at times–have obviously struck a chord with readers, myself included.

Spark Joy is a companion piece to Life-Changing Magic, and includes a generous amount of illustrations to helpfully walk readers through some of her patented folding methods. I have yet to put them into practice, but do intend to try them out, particularly her method of folding shirts so that they stand upright in a drawer rather than laying flat.

The philosophy that I was especially drawn to that is the one reflected in the title–the philosophy of only keeping things that bring you joy. Granted, this is not always practical or feasible–there are some things that are necessary to keep that don’t exactly “spark joy” in my life–but this notion is helping me look at my possessions with a fresh eye. Rather than hanging onto items that I no longer use or really want (but I keep because I feel guilty for getting rid of them), I’m learning to gracefully accept that their time of purpose in my life is over, and that it’s wasteful to hang onto things that I don’t use.

Kondo’s books put me in a mood to do some serious cleaning out, and I’m looking forward to trying out some more of her folding and storing methods as I pare down and try to simplify my home. If you’re needing some motivation to do some cleaning out and reorganizing of your own, Spark Joy will be a good place to start.

I received this book for free for review from Blogging for Books. All opinions stated are my own and I was under no obligation to offer a positive review. 

Leave a Reply

