Spring Decorating on the “Cheep”*

Spring decorating

Although it’s still February for a couple more days and spring is technically a few weeks away, I caught the spring decorating bug yesterday. I’d taken a much-needed day off from work and decided to spend part of it shopping for a few items to help usher in springtime in my home.

After enjoying catching up with a dear friend over a leisurely lunch, I hit several stores in search of inexpensive accent pieces. I had the most luck at Hobby Lobby, a store where I could easily spend several hours wandering aisle after aisle dreaming about craft projects galore. I combined my new finds with a few existing pieces that I had around the house, and I’m pretty pleased with how they turned out.

IMG_2481

Several years ago I purchased this grapevine wreath (from Hobby Lobby, as it so happens) and it has proven to be a worthy investment as I’ve used it season after season. I typically swap it out for a more traditional (artificial) fir Christmas wreath but the rest of the year I hang it on the front door, swapping out the ribbon depending on the season. (During football season, it’s proudly displayed with houndstooth ribbon accented with red and white–Roll Tide!)

In addition to the wreath, I already had the burlap ribbon and the small picture frame so my only expense for updating this wreath were the spools of polka dot and triangle ribbon. The monogram insert in the picture frame is simply one I created using PicMonkey and printed on regular printer paper. Voila!

FullSizeRender

With my door ready to welcome spring’s arrival, I moved on to my coffee table. Previously it held a small white ceramic tray with some plastic pears that I’d long ago spray painted gold. I decided to go in a completely different direction and decorate using some of my favorite possessions–books! I topped the stack with this sweet little distressed metal bird that I bought at Hobby Lobby yesterday.

IMG_2497

I also swapped out the accent pillows on the sofa that I use through fall and winter with this pair that are my usual spring and summer go-tos. I’m pretty sure I purchased these at Ross several years ago and am still enjoying them.

IMG_2492

Finally, I moved on to my dining room table. My dining room is open to the kitchen, which means I walk through it multiple times a day, and I wanted something simple but pretty. The napkin is one of a set of four that I purchased a couple of years ago; I tacked up the other three to serve as a window “valance” in my bathroom–talk about an inexpensive window treatment! I’d been looking for a reason to use that fourth napkin and I finally found it.

I also already had the candle holder with candle. The metal cross piece is actually a trivet that someone at work gave me for Christmas a few years ago. It had previously been on display on my kitchen counter but I’ve been trying to de-clutter my counters so this was a great alternative spot for displaying it. Especially as we approach Easter, the cross is a sweet reminder of the reason to celebrate the season.

Because spring decorating wouldn’t be complete without flowers, I added the vase of alstroemeria to the table display. I actually purchased them a week ago at Publix and they’re still looking good. I absolutely love having fresh flowers in my home but rarely buy them for myself. However, I’m going to try to treat myself with them on a more regular basis, at least during the peak spring and summer months. At just $4 a bouquet, they’re a small splurge that (I think) pays big dividends.

With just a few dollars, making use of several items I already had around the house, and a little bit of time, my home is now ready for spring. I’m curious about your springtime decorating style–do you go all out or just do several small touches throughout your home? What items signal “spring” to you?

*Sorry for the pun–I couldn’t resist!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Spring Decorating on the “Cheep”*

  1. Great job on your pretty wreath, Lisa! And I’m lovin’ the bird…I’m such a sucker for birds. Your spring décor is inspiring me. Bring on spring!
    ~Alinda

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

