51pnimy6nxl-_sx322_bo1204203200_

My best recollection of first hearing about Joni Eareckson Tada was through watching the movie, “Joni”, which was based on her life following a diving accident that left her a quadriplegic when she was a teenager. A teenager myself when I watched the movie, I was left with a healthy fear of diving into shallow water (since I never mastered the art of diving I don’t really have to worry about that) and a respect for Tada’s determination to live a fulfilling life in spite of extraordinary challenges.

In the fifty-plus years following her accident, Tada has used her accident and other health issues (including battles with cancer and chronic pain) to become a powerful witness to and advocate for the disabled community. Her latest book, A Spectacle of Glory, is a 365-day daily devotional that draws on her life experiences and insights, particularly as they relate to those struggling with pain (physical and emotional) and feeling insignificant.

Each “day” in the book consists of a Scripture reference, a brief devotional and a prayer for the day. While it’s perhaps not as “meaty” as I’d prefer in my devotions, I think it  would make a good gift book or companion book to a more in-depth Bible study time.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Handlebar. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

