On My Nightstand: February 2017 Edition

nightstandfeb17

As much as I love to read, I’m embarrassed to admit that I haven’t done a whole lot of it lately. Truth be told, many nights when I come home from a busy day at work I’d rather lounge on the couch and let the TV entertain me rather than a book. But I’m trying to make more time to read these days, especially in bed before I turn out the lights. Here are a few books that have recently or are currently taking up space on my nightstand:

Just finished:

• Looking for Lovely by Annie Downs: This latest book by Downs is basically a series of essays on her life experiences and how brokenness has caused her to see beauty in unexpected places. While I didn’t have any earth-shattering “a-ha!” moments while reading it, I did appreciate her honesty and vulnerability in opening up about some painful experiences. Given my love of Nashville, my favorite parts of this book were the ones where she references Nashville, where she currently lives.

• Front Row at the White House: My Life and Times by Helen Thomas (not pictured): I love history and White House history in particular, so I was excited to find this one on a recent trip to the library. Helen Thomas was a longtime reporter for UPI and a front row fixture at thousands of White House press briefings. This book chronicles how her life and her career covering Presidents Kennedy through Clinton (the book was published at the tail end of President Clinton’s second term, although her career spanned longer than that). I enjoyed reading about her interactions with world leaders and her trailblazing accomplishments as a female journalist.

 

Currently reading:

• Reclaiming Hope by Michael Wear: It’s not often that I rush to buy a book soon after it’s published (the cheapskate in me usually waits until it’s at least released in paperback). However, after hearing an interview with Michael Wear (conducted on, ironically, Annie Downs’ podcast), I felt compelled to order his new book. Wear worked in the Office of Faith-Based and Neighborhood Partnerships during President Obama’s first term in the White House and subsequently directed faith outreach efforts during the President’s 2012 re-election campaign. His book discusses the lessons he learned through his White House days about faith in America and its future, a topic that seems especially tenuous these days. I’m only a few pages in but looking forward to seeing how faith and politics come together in the book.

Reading next:

• She Reads Truth by Raechel Myers and Amanda Bible Williams: This is another book that I heard about on a podcast (this time, The Happy Hour). Written by the founders of She Reads Truth, a ministry devoted to encouraging women in daily Bible study, the book is a joint memoir that reveals how they developed their hunger for God’s word.

 Uninvited by Lysa Terkeurst: This book has been on my “want” list for a while now, after hearing rave reviews about it from several people. A couple of weeks ago my dear friend Alinda surprised me with a copy after adding another rave review for it. I don’t think there’s a single one of us–single, married, childless or not, young or old–who doesn’t at times struggle with loneliness, and I think this is going to be one of those reads that offers a lot of hope and encouragement.

 

And now it’s your turn–what have you been reading lately? I’m always on the lookout for books to add to my Goodreads list, so let’s hear your recommendations!

One thought on “On My Nightstand: February 2017 Edition

Leave a Reply

